SIGN UP

Samsung Mobile

Avatar Image
roopower | 11:02 Thu 22nd Apr 2021 | Technology
4 Answers
I am hopeless with all forms of technology. I have a Samsung mobile on an EE contract. For some time Ive been receiving messages to say I should move all my data on to , I think, onedrive or I would lose everything. I have ignored this message in the hopes it would go away, which it now has. I've been told I would get the first month free but have no idea how much I would be charged after this. As far as I know I am not paying anything for the storeage of my photos etc at the moment, just a blanket charge to EE. I believe icloud was mentioned but I don't use that. Am I safe to ignore this and remain in blissful ignorance? Thanks

Answers

1 to 4 of 4rss feed

Avatar Image
LOL....I get the same, if you are using iCloud as a back up then after June I think it is going up like a puff of smoke.....disappearing with al your back up, if you use it...I don't and OneDrive will take over. ////Am I safe to ignore this and remain in blissful ignorance? Thanks/// That's what I intend to do.
11:08 Thu 22nd Apr 2021
LOL....I get the same, if you are using iCloud as a back up then after June I think it is going up like a puff of smoke.....disappearing with al your back up, if you use it...I don't and OneDrive will take over.
////Am I safe to ignore this and remain in blissful ignorance? Thanks///
That's what I intend to do.
Question Author
Thanks,squad. I don't think I have icloud at all, I can't find an icon for it. I'll just continue ignoring!
You would have had to choose to back up your phone to Samsung cloud and set up a Samsung account. So as you don't use it you can ignore messages about cloud storage transferring to Onedrive
If you're definitely seeing a reference to OneDrive then I'm completely confused, as OneDrive is owned by Microsoft, which has no connection either with Samsung (who made your phone) or with Google (who're behind the Android operating system that your phone runs on).

However if the reference is actually to Google Drive, then it might well make some sense to me. If your phone is configured to store all photos and/or videos in Google Photos (either as well as, or instead of, on a local gallery on your phone), then every picture and every video you take is automatically uploaded to Google's cloud storage service. That means that you won't lose them if your phone packs up or gets stolen; they'll still be available on any replacement phone you buy (as long you associate the same Google account with it). It also means that you can access them on any other device (e.g. a PC or a laptop), simply by logging onto your Google account.

Many people don't even realise that all of their photos and videos are being stored in the cloud and, as all users get a certain amount of storage for free, they never receive any bills or messages about it. However, when the amount of data they've got stored in the cloud approaches 15 GB (which is the limit for free storage), they then start to receive warnings that any future photos and videos won't be stored on Google Drive unless they pay for the service.

Increasing your Google Drive capacity up to 100 GB costs £1.59 per month or £15.99 if you pay annually.

1 to 4 of 4rss feed

Do you know the answer?

Samsung Mobile

Answer Question >>