SIGN UP

CONNECTION IS NOT SECURE AFTER LAPTOP HAD TO BE RESTORED AFTER VIRUS

Avatar Image
MOLITTLE | 17:33 Fri 17th Jun 2011 | Technology
2 Answers
Due to a virus on my PC Dell had to restore it back to factory settings. I am running Windows XP and Internet 6 and my ISP is SKY. After Dell got the PC up they unloaded and reloaded McAfee on it. It also had Norton Ghost 10 which takes backups but when the PC came up it said the version had expired.
When I click on the Internet icon it says: "you are about to view pages over a secure connection" but if I try to sign into my SKY EMAIL or SKY ACCOUNT it says: "You are about to be redirected to a site that is not secure". Dell said just reply YES.
I phoned Sky today and they said contact Dell as the problem is in setting up the PC after the restore and it is security issue. I can acess the internet and browse so they said it is nothing to do with them as they are providing the service which is working.
The strange thing is I can click on Internet and it says "you are about to view a secure page" also for other websites the same but when I go into SKY email or account is says "connection not secure" but if I say No and screen goes blank and I then go into AMazon site it says "You are about to leave a secure site". I really don't understand what the problem is and what to do. I feel as it was restored to factory level years ago perhaps it is something to do with say latest versions of email in SKY. I know SKy said security conflict but McAfee and the Norton Ghost bkup (Not full Norton just bkup) have been running together on it for years before this virus. Sorry I have rambled on but hope someone can help.

Answers

1 to 2 of 2rss feed

Best Answer

No best answer has yet been selected by MOLITTLE. Once a best answer has been selected, it will be shown here.

For more on marking an answer as the "Best Answer", please visit our FAQ.
It was a bit of a ramble :)

Don't worry about it, it's normal, the sign in pages for a lot of services (such as sky email) are secure to stop your password being intercepted but once you've entered your password you are taken to your email page which is not secure (it puts extra load on a web server to supply secure pages, multiplied over hundreds of thousands of users that extra load would hugely increase the cost of the hardware required)

The reason you didn't see the warning before the restore was simply the option to show that information was disabled, you can disable it again if you want by going to tools > internet Options > advanced and untick the box next to "Warn if changing between secure and non secure mode"... or simply leave it and click OK each time.
Question Author
Thank you for your reply. I unticked "Warn if changing between secure and non secure mode" and although the first message about viewing over a secure site no longer appears the second message about non secure is still being shown.
I read somewhere that when you browse the web the address page should begin with httpS and a LOCK icon in the lower part of the window. I have tried a few web browsings to check and at the front of the address it has what looks like a page with an e in (almost looks as if email). All the sites I tried started with http and not httpS. I looked at the bottom of the screen on the left and the same page with an e in is shown. I cannot see any LOCK symbol so I still concerned about security on the web. Can you let me know what you think. Sorry it is another ramble.

1 to 2 of 2rss feed

Do you know the answer?

CONNECTION IS NOT SECURE AFTER LAPTOP HAD TO BE RESTORED AFTER VIRUS

Answer Question >>

Related Questions

Sorry, we can't find any related questions. Try using the search bar at the top of the page to search for some keywords, or choose a topic and submit your own question.