Donate SIGN UP

Excess ö when is it applicable ?

Avatar Image
KARL | 14:48 Fri 03rd Jun 2011 | Insurance
2 Answers
While my wife was getting quotes for car insurance, a thought occurred to me. Clearly if there is an incident between two vehicles that results in damage and both you and the other party claim, you have to deduct the excess from your claim and that is what (maybe) you will get. But what if only the other party claims and you are deemed to have at least some fault to answer for, do you still get charged the excess ? In other words, if you want to accept damage to your vehicle and not involve the insurer in that issue, but you want them to indemnify you regarding the third party's claim, are you liable then to actually contribute the excess toward that claim (i.e. from your own funds) ?


1 to 2 of 2rss feed

Best Answer

No best answer has yet been selected by KARL. Once a best answer has been selected, it will be shown here.

For more on marking an answer as the "Best Answer", please visit our FAQ.

The excess relates to your own damage only.

The rare exception to this is known as an 'All Sections' excess. In this situation you would have to bear your excess for the other party's damage.

This is extremely rare and generally only applies to fleet insurance.
the golden rule is never ever involve your own insurer unless you absolutely have to.

1 to 2 of 2rss feed

Do you know the answer?

Excess ö when is it applicable ?

Answer Question >>

Related Questions

Sorry, we can't find any related questions. Try using the search bar at the top of the page to search for some keywords, or choose a topic and submit your own question.