Site Offline for web page

I have tried to access a webpage I have used frequently over a period of months but for the last couple of weeks I am unable to access the site. I get a blank page stating 'Site is offline. Try again later.'. I know the site is up and running but probably have a problem with a setting my end. All other pages work. What settings could/should I check? Only recent software added has been Malwarebytes Anti Malware. Could this be blocking it? Cheers and Happy New Year
12:44 Mon 02nd Jan 2012
 
Best Answer


No best answer has yet been selected by gadgetgeek. Once a best answer has been selected, it will be shown here.

For more on marking an answer as the "Best Answer", please visit our FAQ.

1 to 14 of 14

malware blockers may block pages or warn you about them but they shouldn't say one is offline if it isn't. Just to state the obvious, are you sure you've got the address right?
Question Author
Hi jno. Thanks for reply. The site comes from my favourite bookmarks, plus I have typed it out and also used a link from the web all to no avail! :-(
Are you absolutely sure the site still exists? Could you provide the web address so that we can see if it loads for us?
yes, that would be my next question: how do you know it's online? Can you see it on another computer?
Question Author
Good idea. My friend in the US has access but a good question for here. The site is http://worldsdown.net/
What ever the result I appreciate your help.
The site is indeed down
Question Author
Thanks mamyalynne. Saves me pondering why it was not working! Will ctc my colleague in the US and explain. Very much appreciated.
Just backing up mamyalynne, the site is definitely down.
Well it's not actually down. It just has a home page that says it's down :-)

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">

<head>

<style type="text/css" media="all">

@import url(http://worldsdown.net/templates/022/css/s
tyle.css);


</style>

<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1250"></head>

<body>

<div align=center style="margin-top:40px;">Site is offline. <br />Try again later.</div>

</body>

</html>
Apologies for incorrect wording.
I can't understand why you'd assume it's a problem with your computer and the site couldn't be down after being greeted with a message telling you the site is down.
The site appears to have been a movie "sharing" site according to the Google cache ... perhaps it has been forced to shut down.
Firefox.. (Web of Trust) gives me a message which indicates that the site has a poor reputation. So I've not attempted entry.

Ron.
It was a site that hosts illegal content, maybe they have been issued with a cease and desist notice in the UK.

1 to 14 of 14

Latest posts