Search In The AnswerBank

itscoldoutside

Has anyone any experience of "itscoldoutside.co.uk"(or could be .com). They cold call by phone, introducing themselves as part of Google, and sell you a ranking service.
Following my falling for their smooth pitch, I gave them my card details, which have strangely falling into the hands of a "banker" in Cyprus, who has cleaned out my credit card!
This is being investigated, and any helpful information about these people would be appreciated. bosschester (Thu 09:40 02/Jul/09)

Please describe this clip for users who are unable to view You Tube videos, this is for their benefit.

Type your answer here
I want to subscribe to this thread

Answers 1 to 6 of 6

Avatar Image
Mr Veritas
(Thu 23:38 02/Jul/09)
itscoldoutside.com " appears" to be legitimate,see here:~
http://www.itscoldoutside.com/
However,I am not quite sure what a ranking service is?
I think what you got was nothing to do with the above firm,just someone preying on the vulnerable.Once they got your bank details (after posing as itscoldoutside) they cleared you out as (sadly) you now know.
Just be MORE CAREFUL in the future.eh?
Avatar Image
wolf63
(Fri 10:36 03/Jul/09)
Mr V - I felt myself saying "yes dad" when I read your final sentence. I miss my dad, but I might adopt you! ;-)
Avatar Image
bosschester
(Fri 12:31 03/Jul/09)
Question Author
Dear Mr. Veritas,
I have no doubts about your sincerity - in fact anyone calling himself "Mr Truth" would have to be trusted.Anyway you're 16 yrs my senior.

However - both I, and many previous contributors have opinions of this company at variance with yours, and one member was talking about a forthcoming issue of proceedings. There were also many complaints about the sales methods of this crowd. So. I'm afraid that their shiny, posh website has got you convinced of their veracity! Stock-in-trade of the con-man, you know. I was hoping to resurrect some of those earlier contributions.

Your comments are appreciated, and I frequently advise my children, grandchildren and great grandchildren in like manner, (having had many years of experience in the legal biz) but, no matter how canny one thinks oneself to be, there is always likely to be someone even smarter just around the corner.

Incidentally, I am reliably informed that a ranking service claims to whizz your website details to the top of the Search Egnine lists.Of course it's too good to be true......isn't it?
Avatar Image
squarebear
(Fri 12:34 03/Jul/09)
Their shiny website is a blatent rip off of the bbc news page. Even their logo looks similar.

Don't give anyone who cold calls, your credit card details as you have learned to your cost.
Avatar Image
bosschester
(Fri 12:37 03/Jul/09)
Question Author
Oh!, and Wolfy, I wouldn't dream of adopting a young scallwag like you. LOL
Avatar Image
wolf63
(Fri 14:40 03/Jul/09)
You called me young - a long time since that happened.

Good luck with your investigations and I hope the matter is resolved quickly.

Answers 1 to 6 of 6

Search In The AnswerBank

Latest posts [refresh]

5 mins ago

kia cat

Christmas Cracker kits

in Christmas

9 mins ago

waterboatman

well good morning

in ChatterBank

19 mins ago

camille79

im doing a cold buffet this week and one...

in Food & Drink

21 mins ago

seekeerz

FAO - The KM Linkers

in Quizzes & Puzzles