SIGN UP

Whatsapp

Avatar Image
DeeLicious | 20:53 Tue 13th Nov 2018 | Technology
7 Answers
On WhatsApp, can you delete messages you've sent to another person, at their end as well as yours, and if so how?

Answers

1 to 7 of 7rss feed

Avatar Image
////// On my WhatsApp, I can only “delete for me” - what am I missing? ////// Thechair forgot to add, " Messages have to be deleted within 7 minutes of being sent for it to work."
23:04 Tue 13th Nov 2018
Apparently so:
"To "unsend" a message on WhatsApp, you simply have to push down on it in the conversation and select the trash can icon from the menu. Then you have to tap on “Delete for everyone” to recall the message. After tapping on that option, the message will disappear on your device and the recipient's phone."
On my WhatsApp, I can only “delete for me” - what am I missing?
////// On my WhatsApp, I can only “delete for me” - what am I missing? //////

Thechair forgot to add, " Messages have to be deleted within 7 minutes of being sent for it to work."
According to the FAQs on WhatsApp, "You only have about an hour after you've sent a message to Delete for Everyone."
I've just checked it and it works.
I also couldn't delete previous messages, but I just sent my missus a whatsapp message and was able to "delete for everyone".

The recipient will receive a message, "this message was deleted", so they'll know that you sent them a message and deleted it; but they won't be able to read it.
Yea the link I read said 7 minutes, but the whatsapp FAQ page does in fact say an hour:

https://faq.whatsapp.com/iphone/26000069

Note as well, that both parties need to have the latest version of whatsapp installed.
-- answer removed --

1 to 7 of 7rss feed

Do you know the answer?

Whatsapp

Answer Question >>