SIGN UP

Snooker Misses

Avatar Image
Cloverjo | 15:32 Wed 05th May 2021 | Sport
54 Answers
I love snooker and thought I understood the rules, but....
I’ve seen players play and miss, and a foul and miss has been called. The opponent can ask for the balls to be replaced. Sometimes it seems there is no limit but other times I’ve seen the player warned that if he doesn’t get it on his third attempt he’ll lose the frame.
What’s the difference, please?

Answers

1 to 20 of 54rss feed

1 2 3 Next Last

Best Answer

No best answer has yet been selected by Cloverjo. Once a best answer has been selected, it will be shown here.

For more on marking an answer as the "Best Answer", please visit our FAQ.
I think that it is to prevent the player playing a deliberate miss.
Question Author
Thanks for your reply, danny, but I still don’t get it.
if a player could hit the object ball directly but for tactical reasons chooses not to then 3 misses forfeit the frame. The referee will warn the player after miss 2. If it is not possible to directly hit the object ball then there is no limit to the number of attempts.
When playing out of a snooker, a really good player will have several options, all with differing degrees of hardship. A players objective is to successfully exit the snooker without leaving a ball 'on' for his opponent. If the ref deems there is an easier route out of the snooker, yet the player persists on taking the hardest, the warning will be given.
See Rule 14, p29 et seq:
https://wpbsa.com/wp-content/uploads/WPBSA-Official-Rules-of-the-Games-of-Snooker-and-Billiards-2020.pdf
(The relevant section is at the bottom of page 30).
not true ken, it's as I explained at 15:37. It's to do with whether or not the player could hit the object ball directly (both sides) but chooses not to.
the OP was asking why sometimes they get 3 goes and sometimes no limit, that's what I was explaining.
I stand corrected, TTT.
ellipsis, that was essentially a refereeing error, the cue ball was clearly not placed back in the correct spot. Both players must approve the position so Murphy really should not have approved. Selby should really have also objected but he didn't have to.
The ref has the discretion NOT to call a miss if he thinks a genuine attempt was made to hit the ball "on". Maybe this would be the easiest ball to hit if it there were several reds on.

A miss will not be called if sufficient penalty points are accumulated to get to the "snookers required" stage.
Murphy's a nice chap and trusted the ref. The ref, Selby and Murphy should have realised ... hang on a minute, if that shot can be played now, why wasn't it playable it earlier? Especially Selby. He's either calling himself an idiot for not playing the shot sooner, or a cheat for playing it later.
jo has this answered your question?
//A miss will not be called if sufficient penalty points are accumulated to get to the "snookers required" stage.//

That was aptly demonstrated in the match between Murphy and Wilson

Wilson failed to get out of a snooker after numerous attempts and accumulated 60 plus penalty points
Why,after potting a Red do they need to nominate a Colour? Surely any Colour should do.
everhelpful: "Why,after potting a Red do they need to nominate a Colour? Surely any Colour should do." - they don't generally have to nominate and yes any colour is allowed, however if the shot they line up is ambiguous the referee may ask them to nominate or, more usually they will realise it themselves and tell the referee what colour they are going for and the referee will then announce their choice.
Thanks,Tora,still seems a bit strange though when any Colour will do.
"Why,after potting a Red do they need to nominate a Colour? Surely any Colour should do."

NO - they have to nominate the colour they are going for even if it's obvious. What if they went for the black (say) and potted the pink by mistake! That would be a foul.
everhelpful, if green and blue where very close together and the player goes for green but hits blue it's a foul but if he did not nominate then he could pretend he was actually going for blue.
davebro: "NO - they have to nominate the colour they are going for even if it's obvious. What if they went for the black (say) and potted the pink by mistake! That would be a foul." - WRONG, in the case you describe it's foul -7 simples. They only nominate if asked and they will only be asked if the colour they are going for is not obvious.

1 to 20 of 54rss feed

1 2 3 Next Last

Do you know the answer?

Snooker Misses

Answer Question >>