SIGN UP

Snooker Rules

Avatar Image
ash318 | 20:43 Tue 21st May 2013 | Sport
7 Answers
I was 3 points ahead with only the Black Ball to play. I fouled on that ball (I missed the black and potted the white ball instead)
Have I now lost the game or am I 4 points behind and opponent has to carry on playing?

Answers

1 to 7 of 7rss feed

Avatar Image
Ash did not say 14 poiints behind> he said Capital am I and then 4. Anyway sad to say ash you lost the game. Only one score on the black allowed.
20:48 Tue 21st May 2013
How did you calculate the figure of 14 behind?
'I' 4 Factor!
Ash did not say 14 poiints behind> he said Capital am I and then 4. Anyway sad to say ash you lost the game. Only one score on the black allowed.
Thanks, mass- I must make the text size bigger on my screen
Question Author
Just found this answer:
There are three less common ways to end a frame:
A foul on the black, when the black is the only ball left. It is sometimes wrongly assumed that play continues after a foul on the black if there are fewer than seven points between the scores. This is not the case: the player who is in the lead following the assessment of a penalty after a foul when only the black remains is the winner

I think it means I lost the frame
when only the black remains if both players can win with the black, then any foul forfits the game.
Yes, when only the black remains only seven more points can be scored. This is irrespective of whether or not the leader's margin is less than seven points. The only exception is when those seven points will result in the scores being level. Rule 4 of the game:

4. End of Frame, Game or Match

(a) When Black is the only object ball remaining on the table, the first score or foul ends the frame excepting only if the following conditions both apply:

(i) the scores are then equal; and
(ii) aggregate scores are not relevant.

The rules then go on to explain what happens in that event (the black is respotted).

1 to 7 of 7rss feed

Do you know the answer?

Snooker Rules

Answer Question >>