SIGN UP

smarties

Avatar Image
TheLegend | 14:18 Sun 13th Feb 2005 | Food & Drink
8 Answers
is it true that the colouring in smarties is made from crushed beetles?

Answers

1 to 8 of 8rss feed

Best Answer

No best answer has yet been selected by TheLegend. Once a best answer has been selected, it will be shown here.

For more on marking an answer as the "Best Answer", please visit our FAQ.
Don't know specifically about smarties, but a commonly used red food colouring (called cochineal) is derived from crushed beetles
We've had this Q before and yes, it is true.  The colouring is E120 also known as cochineal, used to colour the red ones.  There is a synthetic variety available, but Smarties use the real thing and are therefore not suitable for vegetarians.  It's also in Cointreau.
Sorry, didn't mean Cointreau at all, I meant Campari.

Smarties do not appear to be vegetarian, which would indicate that something in them is animal sourced, probably a colouring or wax glaze.

Here's the Veggie friendly list from the manufacturer.

http://www.nestle.co.uk/nutrition/freefrom/docs/freefrom_vegetarian.pdf

Yes Ursula, that's the cocineal I just referred to...

I've been vegetarian for 14 years so I've done a fair bit of research on this stuff.

Sorry Nicola

There were no replies when I was typing my answer!

No worries Ursula - the page must be taking a while to update!
Only Smartie's have the answer........(sorry, I couldn't resit it)

1 to 8 of 8rss feed

Do you know the answer?

smarties

Answer Question >>